General Eligibility

All career civilian federal employees of the Executive Branch of the United States Government (view list of Offices, Departments and Agencies), similar employees of the Library of Congress, Government Accountability Office, Congressional Budget Office, Office of the Capitol Architect, Government Printing Office, Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts, Smithsonian Institution and Botanical Gardens, plus commissioned officers of the U.S. Public Health Service and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, are eligible for nomination to the Service to America Medals Program. Former federal employees who separated from government service after nominations open are still eligible during the current nomination cycle.

All medal categories are open to both individual and team nominations. Team nominations must be submitted under one person identified as the team leader. Team members may be listed within the essay portion of the nomination.

If you are submitting a team nomination, please select one member of the team as the team leader and use that person’s name and contact information when you are entering data (e.g., name, address, phone number). When you are asked for the last name of the nominee, please provide the team lead’s last name. When you are responding to the essay questions, please answer them based on the team’s accomplishments.

The nominator may be any person familiar with the nominee's work and accomplishment(s), except for the nominee or team lead.

Some awards have additional eligibility criteria. View the Medal Categories page for specific requirements.

If you have additional questions, please check our frequently asked questions.

List of Eligible Offices, Departments and Agencies

The Offices:

  • Executive Office of the President
  • Office of the Vice President

The Departments (including subcomponents):

  • Agriculture
  • Commerce
  • Defense (career civilian federal employees only)
  • Air Force (career civilian federal employees only)
  • Army (career civilian federal employees only)
  • Navy (career civilian federal employees only)
  • Education
  • Energy
  • Health and Human Services
  • Homeland Security
  • Housing and Urban Development
  • Interior
  • Justice
  • Labor
  • State
  • Transportation
  • Treasury
  • Veterans Affairs

Independent Agencies:

  • Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
  • African Development Foundation
  • Agency for International Development, U.S.
  • American Battle Monuments Commission
  • Appalachian Regional Commission
  • Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board (Access Board)
  • Arctic Research Commission, U.S.
  • Broadcasting Board of Governors
  • Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board, U.S.
  • Commission on Civil Rights, United States
  • Commission of Fine Arts
  • Commission for the Preservation of America's Heritage Abroad
  • Committee for Purchase from People who are Blind or Severely Disabled
  • Commodity Futures Trading Commission
  • Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
  • Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
  • Corporation for National and Community Service
  • Court Services and Offender Supervision Agency for the District of Columbia
  • Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board
  • Delaware River Basin Commission
  • Election Assistance Commission
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
  • Export-Import Bank of the United States
  • Farm Credit Administration
  • Farm Credit Insurance Corporation
  • Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board
  • Federal Communications Commission
  • Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
  • Federal Election Commission
  • Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
  • Federal Housing Finance Agency
  • Federal Labor Relations Authority
  • Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer
  • Federal Maritime Commission
  • Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service
  • Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission
  • Federal Reserve System
  • Federal Retirement Thrift Investment Board
  • Federal Trade Commission
  • General Services Administration
  • Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation
  • Holocaust Memorial Council, United States
  • Institute of Peace, United States
  • Interagency Council on Homelessness, United States
  • Inter-American Foundation
  • International Trade Commission, United States
  • James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation
  • Japan - United States Friendship Commission
  • Legal Services Corporation
  • Marine Mammal Commission
  • Merit Systems Protection Board
  • Millenium Challenge Corporation
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • National Archives and Records Administration
  • National Capital Planning Commission
  • National Council on Disability
  • National Credit Union Administration
  • National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities
  • National Gallery of Art
  • National Labor Relations Board
  • National Mediation Board
  • National Railroad Passenger Corporation (AMTRAK)
  • National Science Foundation
  • National Transportation Safety Board
  • National Veterans Business Development Corporation (Veterans Corporation)
  • Neighborhood Reinvestment Corporation
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board, United States
  • Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission
  • Office of Government Ethics
  • Office of Personnel Management
  • Office of the Director of National Intelligence
  • Office of the Special Counsel
  • Overseas Private Investment Corporation
  • Peace Corps
  • Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation
  • Postal Regulatory Commission
  • Postal Service, United States
  • Railroad Retirement Board
  • Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Selective Service System
  • Small Business Administration
  • Smithsonian (including trust funded employees)
  • Social Security Administration
  • Social Security Advisory Board
  • Special Inspector General for Iraq Reconstruction
  • State Justice Institute
  • Susquehanna River Basin Commission
  • Tennessee Valley Authority
  • Trade and Development Agency, U.S.

The Samuel J. Heyman Service to America Medals are presented annually by the nonprofit, nonpartisan Partnership for Public Service to celebrate excellence in our federal civil service.

View All Supporting Sponsors